The John Cook Wyllie Library will resume normal hours beginning at 1:30 p.m. on Sunday, March 1, 2015.

Honor Societies at UVa-Wise gain new members


The University of Virginia’s College at Wise has announced that several students were inducted into various honor societies on campus following the completion of the 2013-2014 academic year.

Five students were inducted into the Lambda Pi Eta honor society of the National Communication Association. The society’s purpose is to recognize, foster, and reward outstanding scholastic achievement in communication studies. The Rho Xi Chapter inductees for the 2013-14 academic year are: Michael Brett Hall, Andriannah Jade Kilgore, Brad Morris Lawson, Rachel Renee Person, and Layla Victoria Robinette.

Nine students were inducted into the Phi Alpha Theta honor society for excellence in the study of history. Requirements for induction include an overall grade point average of 3.00 and a minimum of 3.00 in history classes. Inductees for the 2013-14 academic year are: Victoria Ellen Carter, Carmen Rae Davis, Pake Levi Davis, Thomas Bailey Greer, Corbin Foster Scott Hayslett, Adrienne Lauren Pollard, Dakota Chase Stanley, Aaron Gregory Sturgill, and Skye Aubrey Waddle.

Thirteen students were inducted into the Psi Chi honor society for excellence, scholarship, and advancement in the study of psychology. The Psi Chi inductees for the 2013-14 academic year are: Cassondra Marie Chadwell, Megan Elizabeth Crumley, Edileyne Delgado, Glenn William Eary, Kelli Christine Hess, Heather Nichole Huntington, Dakota Blake Icenhour, Corey Blake Jenkins, Heather Matlene Owens, Lauren Nicole Powers, Dustin Allen Sparks, Courtney Amanda Taylor, and Ashley Carroll Tuttle.

Seven students were inducted into the Sigma Tau Delta honor society, whose purpose is to confer distinction upon students of the English language and literature. Sigma Tau Delta inductees for the 2013-14 academic year are: Travis Lee Berry, Carlie Lauren Clark, Joseph Lynn Cooperstein, Makayla Gayle Gamble, Zachary Alvin Hill, Sotiria Anna Konstantinou, and Molly Draper Thompson.

Eight students were inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau honor society of nursing. The society is advancing world health and celebrating nursing excellence in scholarship, leadership, and service. Members must have a grade point average of at least 3.500 and be in the top 35 percent of their class. Inductees for the 2013-14 academic year are: Emily Ann Brock, Haley Marie Cantrell, James Thomas Dingess, Zachary Steven Lovell, Alana Rose Parton, Kimberli Ann Rose, Anne Marie Steeves, and Olivia Zonga Mayon Nzapa.

Sixteen students were inducted into the Sigma Zeta honorary society, whose purpose is to promote interest in the study of mathematics, computer science and the sciences, and to recognize students who have attained outstanding achievement in those fields. To be eligible for membership, students must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.0 in all math and science courses completed. Inductees for the 2013-14 academic year are: David Wayne Berry, Andrew James Chapman, Torey Alexander Dorton, John Rufus Hall, Sarah Louella Hall, Maya Gabrielle Hamlett, Jessica Dawn Hensley, David Mwangi Kihiu, Lindsay J. Lawson, Maurice Nathan cGlone, Sarah Elaine Medley, Caitlin Amber Niece, Samuel Nicholas Smiith, Conner Daniel Stanley, Alex Landon Summers, and McKenzie Rae VanDyke. 

Forty-seven students were honored for having distinguished themselves through their involvement in the life of the college by “Who’s Who Among American Colleges and Universities.” The honorees for the 2013-14 academic year are: Brittni Altmann, Jackson Austin, Jordan Bise, Ashley Blaylock, Emily Brock, Katelyn Cantrell, Tiffany Carter, Chelsea Cluesman, Kimberly Crockett, Tyler Davis, Koen Elswick, Dustin Ferrell, Amanda Fields, Lisa Foster, Kinsey Hall, M. Brett Hall, Emily Hawkins, Dakota Hill, Katie Jo Holman, Rebecca Hopewell, Shannon Howell, Andrianah Kilgore, R. Nikki Lane, April Layne, Abigail Mason, Amy Montgomery, Ashlyn Moore, Amanda Neese, Junetta Nuckels, Elizabeth Otim, Heather Owens, Justin Palmer, Rachel Person, Ryan Ramirez, Nathan Rasnake, Kristina Romualdo, David Sabo, Madison Savarese, Katie Scott, Samantha Smith, Katelyn Sutherland, Jeffrey Taylor, McKenzie VanDyke, Santana VanDyke, Kandee Wallace, Elivia Wimmer, and Thomas Wright.