The John Cook Wyllie Library will resume normal hours beginning at 1:30 p.m. on Sunday, March 1, 2015.

UVa-Wise honors students at 2010 Academic Awards Ceremony

The University of Virginia’s College at Wise recognized the scholastic achievements of nongraduating students during the Academic Awards Ceremony on April 25.




Kristen Ashley McGlothlin of Lebanon received the Jack M. Holland Award, presented to a rising senior who shows remarkable potential as a future elementary school teacher. The award is named in honor of the former chair of the Department of Education and Professor of Education at the College.


Megan Jill Herron of Weber City received the Lois P. Lowry Award in Language Arts, presented to the student who has demonstrated outstanding academic performance, creative ability and great promise as a future teacher in the field of language arts.




Evan W. McCowan of Clinchco, Wycliffe S. Farquharson of Tazewell and Steven Cory Osborne of Abingdon each received the Clinch Valley College History Fund Award recognizing history majors who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement.


Stephanie C. Adkins of Wise and Christopher L. Tomlinson of Pennington Gap each received an Edward L. “Buck” Henson, Jr. History Scholarship. Henson was a devoted and valued member of the College’s history faculty for 33 years. This scholarship in his memory is awarded to students recommended by the history faculty as outstanding junior history majors.


Kendra R. Miller of Wise and Tamara S. Haack of Stephens City each received a Heather Markusich Scholarship. A 1989 graduate of the College, Markusich was an exemplary history major. The summer following her graduation, and just before her departure for graduate school, she was fatally injured in an automobile accident on her way to work at the Pentagon. A flood of memorial contributions came to the College from all over the country, sufficient to establish a permanently endowed scholarship in her memory. The scholarship is awarded to history majors of unusual talent and promise.


Jerrod Alexander Boggs of Pound received the Dana Sample Phi Alpha Theta Travel Award. Created in 2007 to honor Dana Sample, the award is designed to support student international travel and presentations at historical conferences, particularly under the auspices of the history honorary society, Phi Alpha Theta.





Christopher M. Bailey of Chesapeake received the Language and Literature Award for Spanish.


Raymond R. Kago of Reston received the Language and Literature Award for French.


Austin L. McGrady of Willis received a Frances Currie Peake Scholarship. Frances Currie Peake taught in the mountains of Tennessee and instilled in her students and her children a love of literature. The Frances Currie Peake Scholarship is awarded to rising junior or senior English majors who have demonstrated excellence in literary studies.


Cassandra L. Dowdy of Wise received the Augusto Portuondo Award for Spanish. The Augusto Portuando Award in Spanish honors Portuondo’s years of service to UVa-Wise. The award recognizes a Spanish major who has demonstrated aptitude for Spanish and for teaching.





Zachary Eugene Holcomb of Big Stone Gap received the CRC Freshman in Chemistry Award, given to the student judged by the chemistry faculty to be the most outstanding in freshman chemistry.




Heather Dawn Blair of Whitesburg, Ky and Bryant Gray of St. Stephens Church each received a Velta Collins Holyfield Memorial Scholarship. Family members and friends established the scholarship in 1991 shortly after Mrs. Holyfield’s death. Mrs. Holyfield graduated from the University of Virginia School of Nursing in 1957 and served the health care community in Wise for many years as a noted teacher and nurse. The Department of Nursing honors Mrs. Holyfield by awarding scholarships to nursing students who exhibit academic achievement, leadership potential, motivation and the talent to achieve excellence in nursing practice.




Stacey J. Collier of Pound received the Musicianship Award, which recognizes music majors who not only have excelled as performers in the past academic year, but also demonstrated the strongest work ethic and dedication to the study of their principal instruments.


John P. Martin of Portsmouth received the Music Leadership Award, which recognizes the music student who has best exemplified commitment, cordiality and competence in their leadership role in the Division of Music during the past academic year.