Commencement 2009 : College Honors

College Honors - Class of 2009

Summa Cum Laude 
Beverly Lee Ann Caruso
Andrew Jacob Maggard
Leslie Brooke McNew
Holly Elizabeth Mullins
Jessica Marie Newman
Margit Scarberry
Ginny Alice Shortt
Tosha Noel Sturgill

Magna Cum Laude 
Jonah Lee Adkins
Briana Hope Allen
Stephen Zachary Antonucci
April Gabrielle Ashby
Sara Ann Bailey
Margaret Smith Bamman
Tamsyn Miranda Ruth Crosswhite
Brittany Rae Hartgrove
Wesley Asberry Hearp
Andrea Paige Justus
Christopher Matthew Large
Tara Nicole Large
Jessica Amber Lawson
Morgan Elizabeth Pennington Meade
Ashley Brooke Mullins
Veronica Fawn Rasnick
Stephanie Ann Ring
Matthew Ryan Sanders
Danielle Collin Smith
Melanie Leigh Wade
Valerie Ashtin Walls
Emily Barrett Witucki 

Cum Laude 
Brianne Montgomery Green
Eleanor Winter Harmon
Brittany Michelle Harris
Jenna Rae Haynes
Steven DeWayne Hensley, Jr.
Heather Rose Huff
Elena Klinova
Britney Alese Lawson
Randall Chadwick Longworth
Dustin Lee Osborne
Jared Anson Owens
Amy Brooke Phillips
Megan Rochelle Sanders
Julie Kaye Shortt
Selinda Andrea Stanley
Austin Blake Taylor
Brandi Nichole Trail


The GPA requirements for honors are as follows:

  • Cum Laude: 3.50-3.699
  • Magna Cum Laude: 3.70-3.899
  • Summa Cum Laude: 3.90-4.00

The student's GPA must be maintained on graded work taken at UVa-Wise separately from and combined with all graded coursework taken, regardless of whether the work was accepted for transfer or not. Honor designations will be based on grades as of December 2008.