National Residence Hall Honorary

NRHH logo

The NRHH chapter at UVa-Wise recognizes the top 1% of residential student leaders.  These students have contributed vast amounts of time and energy to the residence life program at UVa-Wise through their involvements in RA/RD positions, RHA, program & conference participation, and the Student Conduct Board, to name just a few.

Honorary inductees are faculty, staff and alumni who have mentored and encouraged those involved in the residence life program and have made outstanding contributions of their own.

The UVa-Wise Chaper is the Diamondback Terrapin Chapter.  Recent recognitions include:

  • 2013 NRHH Building Block Chapter of the Year (South Atlantic Association of College & University Residence Halls (SAACURH))
  • 2012-2013 OTM Cup (SAACURH)
  • 2012-2013 Most Improved Student Organization (UVa-Wise Student Leadership Award)


2013-2014 Executive Board
  • President - Katie Scott
  • VP of Recognition - Seth Looney
  • VP of Selection & Induction - Ashley Blaylock
  • VP of Community Service - Nathan McGlone
  • Public Relations Officer - Sarah Douglass
  • Secretary/Treasurer - Glenn Eary
  • Advisor - Jessica Shartouny

2013-2014 inductees

  • Leann Carter
  • Vincenz Freels
  • Jacob Garman
  • Dakota Hill
  • Seth Looney
  • Pamela Wright

To view past inductees, visit the NRHH inductee archives [HERE].

OTMs -- Do you OTM (of the month)??

An OTM or Of The Month is a great way to recognize the contributions to the residence life program and/or residential students by members of the campus community or through programming initiatives.  OTMs can be general or program.  Learn more or submit an OTM [HERE].


Congratulations to the March 2014 OTM winners:

  • Community Service - Chancellor for a Day
  • E-Board Member - Nathan McGlone
  • Educational Program - I Want to be a Musician
  • Faculty & Staff - Neva Bryan
  • Organization - MCA
  • Passive Program - Highway to Health
  • Resident Advisor - Shannon Howell
  • Res Life Faculty/Staff - Housing
  • Residential Community - Cavalier Farms RAs
  • Social Program - McCraray Coffee Night
  • Student - Daniel Deane

To view past OTM winners, visit the NRHH OTM archives [HERE].


Chancellor for A Day is an annual canned food drive provides some healthy student competition while also benefiting a local charity. The 2013 event collected more than 700 lbs. of nonperishable food and water.

The spring 2014 event will include the collection of nonperishable food items in the atrium of the Slemp Student Center and in Smith Dining Commons during the week of March 24-28.  The student who donates or has the most food donated in his/her name will be the 2014 Chancellor for a Day.  He/she will switch roles with Chancellor Donna Henry on April 0.  For more information, contact Nathan McGlone.

Past honorees have included Jordan Childress (2013), Andrew 'Dru' Morgan (2011), Chelsea Theriault (2010), Joanna Lewis (2009), and Cragin Harris (2008).

More information

For more information about the UVa-Wise chapter of NRHH, please contact advisor Jessica Shartouny at 276-376-4354 or