MCS News & Events

MCS News & Events

Mathematics Seminar Presentations

The following students will be presenting their topics on the dates listed:

  • Monday, November 19 – Derek Bryant
  • Monday, November 26 – Alice Pack
  • Wednesday, November 28 – Christina Eades
  • Friday, November 30 – Jennifer Ryan
  • Monday, December 3 – Jessica Williams
  • Wednesday, December 5 – Jarrod Ashley
  • Friday, December 7 – Derek Kiser

All presentations will be at 1:00 PM in Darden 214B.


James Vance speaking at SMB 2012

Dr. James Vance will be speaking at the Society for Mathematical Biology’s 2012 conference on 7/27. His topic will be “Sensitivity analysis of a three-species non-linear response omnivory model.”

For more information, visit The Society for Mathematical Biology.

date:
Fri, 07/27/2012

Department featured in Software Engineering article

The Department of Mathematics and Computer Science has been featured in an article at Software Engineer Insider. The article, titled “Virginia-Wise’s Small Computer-Science Department Draws Big-Name Employers”, explores the differences between computer science and software engineering degrees and the employers who seek our graduates.


UVa-Wise 360

Representatives from the department will be at the UVa-Wise 360 event on Saturday, April 21st to provide information about our department and answer questions.

Location: Fred B. Greear Gymnasium
Time: 9:00 – 1:00

date:
Sat, 04/21/2012

UVa-Wise 360

Representatives from the Department of Mathematics and Computer Science will be presenting information and answering questions about the department and our programs.

Location: UVa-Wise Convocation Center
Time:9:00am

date:
Sat, 02/11/2012