Holiday Schedule

2019 UVA Wise Holiday Schedule

 
Date Holiday
Tuesday, January 1 New Year’s Day
Friday, March 15 Spring Break Day (Lee-Jackson Day, observed)
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day
Wednesday, November 27 ½ day granted by Governor
Thursday, November 28 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 29 Day after Thanksgiving Day
Monday, December 23 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, observed
Tuesday, December 24 Christmas Eve
Wednesday, December 25 Christmas Day
Thursday, December 26 George Washington Day, observed
Friday, December 27 Labor Day, observed
Monday, December 30 Columbus Day & Yorktown Victory Day, observed
Tuesday, December 31 Veteran’s Day, observed
Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day

2020 UVA Wise Holiday Schedule

*Additional time granted by President Ryan for December 31, 2019. Approved by Chancellor Henry.
**Additional time granted by President Ryan for December 31, 2020. Approved by Chancellor Henry.
***Half day granted by the Governor. Half day granted by President Ryan. Approved by Chancellor Henry.
Date Holiday
Wednesday, January 1 New Year’s Day
Thursday, January 2 Additional time *
Friday, January 3 Additional time **
Friday, March 13 Spring Break Day (Lee-Jackson Day, observed)
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day
Friday, July 3 Independence Day, observed
Wednesday, November 25 Day before Thanksgiving Day ***
Thursday, November 26 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 27 Day after Thanksgiving Day
Wednesday, December 23 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, observed
Thursday, December 24 Christmas Eve (granted by the Governor)
Friday, December 25 Christmas Day
Monday, December 28 George Washington Day, observed
Tuesday, December 29 Labor Day, observed
Wednesday, December 30 Columbus Day & Yorktown Victory Day, observed
Thursday, December 31 Veteran’s Day, observed
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year’s Day

Supervisors are encouraged to adopt a liberal leave policy during holiday periods to accommodate employee requests, as long as essential services continue to be provided. We recognize that due to business necessity some departments may be required to be open and will not be able to observe scheduled holidays. In those instances, essential college employees who must work on a holiday should be given adequate advance notice for personal planning purposes. Questions regarding the provision of essential customer services should be directed to your respective vice chancellor.

Should the Governor grant further additional holiday time during the year, Human Resources will disseminate this information. If you have questions regarding this schedule, please call Stephanie Perry at ext. 0240,  Francene Meade at ext. 0142 or Debbie Vanover at ext. 1067.

 

UVA Wise Calendar