Outstanding Contribution Award

Nominees for the 2018 Leonard W. Sandridge Outstanding Award, left to right:
Matthew Stanley, Randall Gabbert, Jessica Necessary, Mary Ann Keith, Denise Maggard,

Chancellor Donna P. Henry, Jason Houston

Leonard W. Sandridge Outstanding Contribution Award

This page is provided to solicit nominations for the Leonard W. Sandridge Outstanding Contribution Award. This program gives members of the UVa-Wise community the opportunity to honor classified and University staff who have shown exemplary service and commitment to the College.

A committee appointed by the Chancellor will select the OCA recipient. The committee will make the selection solely from the information contained in the nomination packet. Therefore, it is very important that complete information be provided in the nomination.

The recipient of the  Outstanding Contribution Award will receive a cash award and an engraved memento of recognition.


Congratulations to K. Matthew Stanley, the 2018 Outstanding Contribution Award Recipient



2019 Nomination Form

Nominations must be received in Human Resources no later than Friday, April 26, 2019, at 5:00 p.m. Nominations will also be accepted by email through the deadline. Those desiring to email a nomination packet may send it to sdh9y@uvawise.edu.

Nominations are limited to currently employed, non-probationary, salaried classified and University staff employees in good standing. Any member of the College community may submit a nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

Selection Criteria Guidelines
The committee will consider outstanding contributions to the overall mission, objectives and values of the College, which have enhanced internal and/or public regard for the services provided for the College. Service contributions may be in the form of service to the students or other clients of the College, service to management, service to fellow employees, or service to the community.

Nomination Guidelines
When making a nomination, please be sure to include thorough and specific information.  The nomination should be as detailed as possible. (It is suggested that the  nomination be at least one typed page in length). The nomination must also contain the approval of the nominee’s area Vice Chancellor. If the nomination is not complete, it will not be forwarded to the selection committee. Some points that might be made are:

  1. The degree to which services exceeded the expectations of the position.
  2. The period of time over which the contribution(s) occurred, as well as the current/recent contribution(s) forming the basis of the nomination.
  3. The approximate number of persons benefited by the contribution(s) and how.
  4. The ways in which the contribution(s) enhanced the College’s image or improved service.
  5. The positive influence the nominee made upon others.
  6. The influence the employee had on improving work methods, productivity, decreased costs, etc. for the College and/or the Commonwealth.

Required Nomination Information
All nominations must include:

  • Nominee’s Name
  • Title
  • Phone Number
  • Department
  • E-mail
  • Nominator’s Name
  • Title
  • Department
  • Phone Number
  • Email
  • Nominee’s Area Vice Chancellor’s Name
  • Nominee’s Area Vice Chancellor’s signature and/or written approval

If you have any questions, please contact Stephanie Perry, Director of Human Resources, at x0240 or email at sdh9y@uvawise.edu.

Past OCA Recipients

2018          K. Matthew Stanley
2017          John Carter
2016          Brenda Whitaker
2015          Rue Gembach
2014          Jessica Necessary
2013          Kim Marshall
2012          Jennifer Partin
2011           Sheila Hileman
2010          Sue Mullins
2009         Pearl Smith
2008         Jean Good
2007         Janice Davis
2006         Tamara Robinson
2005         Pam Potter
2004         Lyndale Branham
2003         Darlene Moore
2002         Raydell Cross
2001         Jackie Mullins
2000         David Short
1999          Randall Gabbert
1998          Wanda Mullins
1997          Gail Smith
1996          Margie Schoenewald
1995          Rue Gembach

April 26, 2019 at 5:00pm.
Nominations cannot be accepted after this date.