Department of Social Sciences


Department of Social Sciences

The department offers the following degrees in social sciences: Administration of Justice, Government (with concentrations available in Foreign Affairs and Political Science), Psychology, and Sociology. For information about social science courses, degrees, and majors, visit the degrees in social sciences page.

Minors in the social sciences are available in Administration of Justice, Government, Psychology, and Sociology. A minor consists of a minimum of 18 semester hours, 12 of which must be at the 3000-level or above. In designing social science courses of study for a minor, students are required to consult faculty members in the chosen disciplines.

Along with its degree-granting programs, the Department also offers Certification to teach in the Secondary schools (grades 8-12) with areas of concentration consisting of Political Science, along with Sociology and Cultural Anthropology.

Why Earn a Degree in the Social Sciences at UVa-Wise?


Average students per class

Wise, VA

A beautiful, supportive mountain community

Lowest Debt

Students graduate with a lighter burden

Typically 97%

of the graduating class is employed or seeking a graduate or professional degree

Contact Us

Bryan Hoyt

Bryan H. Hoyt, PhD

Departmental Chair
Smiddy Hall 136

No Image Female

Elizabeth Mullins

Administrative Assistant
Smiddy Hall 137