Student Affairs announces Leadership Awards

The Division of Student Affairs at The University of Virginia’s College at Wise is pleased to announce recipients for the 2020-2021 Annual Leadership Awards. Traditionally awarded at the annual Leadership Awards Banquet, due to COVID-19, recipients will be notified and/or awarded their accolades at departmental or organizational events.

 “UVA Wise provides a variety of leadership opportunities for our students to engage in, whether through student governance, student recreation, leadership programming or other extracurricular activities,” Dean of Students Josh Justice said. “These programs and opportunities enhance their educational experience here at the College, and provide students opportunities to learn and grow skills outside the classroom.”  

Many leadership awards are chosen through a nomination process, where students, faculty and staff can submit nominations recognizing individuals and organizations for their contributions. Other awards are chosen by department members within the Division of Student Affairs or by members of an organization.

“In addition to the contributions that our students make both to our campus community as well as the community at large, our faculty and staff should be applauded for the many ways that they support and develop our students as leaders, “ added Justice.

A video, showcasing highlights of the awards, may be accessed online.

Recipients Include:

Outstanding Student Leader Award—Anthony Mason Phillips

Organization Advisor of the Year Award—Madelynn Shell

Student Organization of the Year Award—National Society of Leadership & Success

Student Organization Service Excellence Award—Student Athlete Advisory Council

Buck Henson Student Life Appreciation Award—Dana Sibrel

Commitment to Diversity Award—Joseph Kern

Unsung Hero Awards—UVA Wise Women’s Basketball Team, Quintin Hunter, Logan Lane, Rachael Hulme, Matthew Stanley, Walter Gibson, Noah Anderson, and Autumn Stover-Bailey

Resident Assistant of the Year Award—Dylan Lester

Residence Life Community Builder of the Year Award—Hubertine Moyo

Residence Life Programmer of the Year Award—Dylan Lester

Residence Hall Association Member of the Year Award—Jacinta Yeboah

Intramural MVP Award: Brooke Abbott, Abby Odasso, and Johnathan Baker

Erik Bevins Intramural Memorial Award—Jonah Cornett

Intramural Hall of Fame Inductee—Tyler Blaum

Student Conduct Board Service Awards—Anthony Mason Phillips, Madelyn Lawrence, Jesse French, Pedrito Valadez, Bryse Matlock, and Shurka Henderson

Student Government President Service Award—Anthony Mason Philips

Student Government Association Member of the Year—Daniel Ibrahim

Student Government Association Student Leader Scholarship Recipient—Christopher Logan Smith

Student Member of the Board Service Award—Madelyn Lawrence

Multicultural Center Intern Service Award—Pedrito Valadez, Jesse French and Andrew Greene